♡ 93 ( +1 | -1 ) arggg! How could I!Okay, so I'm playing in the finals of our universtiy OTB chess tournament. I'm black, my opponent (a friend of mine) white, and we are both 1500-1600 players. In the end game, we completely wipe each other out .. except I get my last pawn through to promote. I say to myself, he'll resign, we've been at this for 2 hours ... but he doesnt. I quickly get him into a classic position with his king on a3, my king on c4 and my queen on g2 .. my move. Okay, we've practiced this a million times .. I just do a waiting move along the 2nd rank with my queen, his king is forced to a4, and my queen goes to a2 mate, right? Right? Well guess what I do .. in my excitement that I played an incredible positional game, and it's late, and I'm tired, and I can finish off this 2 hours with a win .....
I move Qc2. ARRRRGGHH WHY!!! I see it the instant I let go. He gets a stalemate.
What do you do in the aftermath to stop beating yourself up, and what sort of things do you practice to not repeat such a debacle in the future?
♡ 48 ( +1 | -1 ) anyway, i DARE you to get a copy of wedding present's seamonsters. it'll rock your socks. there are so many good bands out there that people don't know about. it's a shame, really.
i admit i have never listened to linkin park (but I'm a pretty good judge of books by their covers), but i've heard a lot of greenday, and that's the kind of cliched stuff you listen to on the roof of a frat house in 1996. those guys aren't real musicians.
♡ 94 ( +1 | -1 ) r_lawrence:don't feel bad. it'll pass. you won't feel bad about it ten years from now will you? If not, then why feel bad now?
I did something similar. I was White. I had a king and queen only. My opponent moving down the board had only a king and pawn. the pawn was on b2. his king was nearby protecting it. it was my move. i knew that this position was a win for me (it would have been drawn if my opponent's pawn was on a rook or bishop file instead). all i had to do was check the opponents king until i forced it in front of its pawn, giving me a spare move to bring my king closer. then i would keep doing this until my king was close enough for me to deliver mate. Now I had all of this in mind and this was the position (roughly):
Black: king on a1, pawn on b2 White: king on f5, queen on h3
I blew the win on my very next move! I played Qh1+ and of course was shaking my head when my opponent played b1=Q+ to block the check.
I didn't feel too bad, though, because I got 4.5/5.0 against him.
♡ 19 ( +1 | -1 ) I still feel badabout 8 years after I made a mistake, it was something like:
White: King on d4, pawn on a5 Black: King on g7, pawns on b7 and c7.
My opponent played b6, I replied with axb6! STUPID!!!
♡ 89 ( +1 | -1 ) how about thisI was playing for the state champ.. and was black against a 1100 fish- it was the last round i had a 3.5 score( I drew the top seed)- and i we played the closed sicililan I offered him a chance towin a pawn and double my pawns in exchange for a bruttle mating attack. He didnt even see my sac instead he pushes a pawn that not only shuts off my attack and cramps my position but it forks my Q and R. This was the only time in my ife i had over looked a fork or any moves that allow my opp to win a piece. Now 4 hrs later(i lost) my name was called to recieve my "hornorable" mention i would not go and had to be dragged up to the stand by 3 full grown men and i still wouldnt accept it. To this day i have been made fun of for that- morral it isnt worth it to pout about lossing- just go play your next game the best you can
P.S. I just recently crushed this 1200 kid so bad that he hasnt played chess for 6 months(yay!!!!)
♡ 28 ( +1 | -1 ) once I was playing on uschesslive,I was moving my queen and the mouse slipped and I landed it on the wrong square,and he took it immediatly.I asked him to allow me to take it back but he refused.I got a little mad at that,and I Thought to myself,If a Gm could play against this guy without his queen and win,so can I.so I buckled down to work and whuped him!!
♡ 4 ( +1 | -1 ) does that mean you won?and if you gave me Q odds against a gm i could win
♡ 18 ( +1 | -1 ) triangulatorWould you have had to be dragged to the podium to accept first prize? What's the problem--was honorable mention beneath you. I hope you have grown up a little since then.